​​​​​​​​​​About Us

Tamil Nadu is one of the most urbanised states in India. As per 2011 census, 48.45% of the population in the State of Tamil Nadu lives in the urban areas. There are 3 types of Urban Local Bodies depending on their population and income.

Types of Urban Local Bodies



The Commissionerate of Municipal Administration is the Nodal Department for coordinating and supervising the functions of 126 Municipalities and 9 Municipal Corporations (Madurai, Coimbatore, Tiruchirappalli, Tirunelveli, Salem, Tiruppur, Erode, Vellore and Thoothukudi) except the Corporation of Chennai. This supervision covers fields of Revenue Administration, Financial Management, Infrastructure Development, Town Planning, Sanitation & Solid Waste Management amongst others.

​The Commissionerate of Municipal Administration is headed by the Commissioner of Municipal Administration and assisted by Joint Commissioners, Additional Directors, Joint Directors and 7 Regional Directors of Municipal Administration (one RDMA each for Chengalpattu, Vellore, Salem, Tiruppur, Thanjavur, Madurai and Tirunelveli regions)